Texting While Driving Ban Passed by Legislature

Hit And Run Accident

For many, driving without texting is common sense. For some, unfortunately, the act seems completely innocent and necessary. A text can wait until the next time you stop, though. Texting while driving is currently considered the most dangerous thing one can do while driving. In 2016, the CDC estimated that eight of 1,000 drivers were injured due to texting. That’s about to change, though. In Texas, Governor Greg Abbott passed a ban on texting while driving.

Texting Accidents

According to records kept by the Texas Department of Transportation, nearly 110,000 vehicular crashes were caused by texting and distracted driving. These figures are for 2016 alone. Of these 110,000 accidents, 450 resulted in death while 3,000 resulted in severe injury. These are outstanding numbers.

Distracted driving is not only a foolish move but deadly. The number one distraction: cellphones. Everyone has a phone these days, and everyone texts on their phone. Whether it’s to a friend or family member. There is no real reason to be on the phone while driving.

Texting Ban

Back in 2011, a previous law that made texting while driving illegal was vetoed by Governor Rick Perry. The law was initially passed by the Texas Legislature.

Today, Governor Greg Abbott has signed the law once and for all. This marks the end of a decade-long battle to prohibit texting while driving. During a regular session of the Texas Legislature, Governor Abbot stepped forward and made a move.

According to the law, texting while driving is punishable by a $99 fine for the first offense, then $200 for each subsequent offense. You may not read, write, or send messages while driving. Devices for navigation and music, however, remain allowed.

Contact Us

If you’ve been involved in an accident due to a distracted driver, contact the Todd Durham Law Firm at (972) 362-0046. We’re here to help you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *