Can a Car Accident Attorney Help Me If I Don’t Have Car Insurance?

A car accident attorney can help you get justice in Lewisville, TX, even if you didn’t have car insurance at the time of the incident.
Monkey Business Images on Shutterstock

In Texas, it’s illegal to drive without having valid car insurance. Every driver needs to have at least $30,000 of coverage per injured person (bodily injury) and up to at least $60,000 per accident. Additionally, all Texas drivers need to have property damage coverage for $25,000 or more. This is to protect both the driver and others involved in accidents.

The Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Texas

Usually, drivers can receive a ticket for driving without the required auto insurance. You might also have your car towed if you can’t provide proof of insurance. If you’re in an accident without insurance, you may pay an additional fine on top of the ticket given to you by police. These fines can start at $175 and go as high as $1,000, depending on how many offenses you’ve had. The more times you’re caught without auto insurance, the higher the fines will be.

What To Do If You’re in an Accident Without Auto Insurance

If the worst happens and you’re involved in an automobile accident without having insurance, the first thing you should do is contact the police. Get as much information as you can from the scene via written information and photos. Know from the get-go that you’ll probably pay for all of the damage out of your own pocket since no insurance will help you.

When to Call a Car Accident Attorney

Just because you don’t have insurance doesn’t mean you should take responsibility for the accident if it wasn’t your fault. Let personal injury lawyer Todd R. Durham help determine what your rights are and what you actually owe. Our firm provides excellent car accident legal representation for residents in the Lewisville, TX area. Learn more by calling (214) 222-4000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *