The numbers don’t lie. In Texas alone, 3,015 drunk driving accident fatalities occurred in 2011 as the result of 2,571 DWI crashes. Because of this terrible statistic, the state has some of the harshest DWI penalties in the nation. If you or someone you love has been affected by one of these accidents, the Frisco attorneys with The Durham Law Firm will fight for your rights and work to help you achieve a favorable result in your case.
The Penalties for Driving Drunk
Here is a quick look at some of the penalties for getting a DWI in Texas.
- The minimum DWI penalty in Texas is 72 hours in jail and a fine of up to $500.
- If a person is caught driving while drunk and has an open container in the vehicle, he or she faces at least six days in jail.
- A minor convicted of DWI will have to pay a fine of $500, perform community service, and take a course on alcohol awareness.
- An adult convicted of DWI with a minor in the vehicle could be sentenced to between 180 days and two years in prison and be required to pay a fine of up to $10,000. His or her driver’s license will also be revoked.
It’s Not Worth the Risk
We’re obviously in the time of year where there are a lot of holiday get-togethers, with ample opportunities to consume alcohol. However, the penalties associated with DWI are too severe to take a chance at being arrested for driving while impaired. The consequences of causing a drunk driving accident, of course, could potentially be life shattering. There’s simply no reason to risk it – if you’re going to drink, have a designated driver or call a cab to get home. The responsible decision you make today could save a life tonight – and that’s not an over-statement.
If you are a victim of a drunk driving accident, don’t hesitate to contact The Durham Law Firm as soon as you can by calling 214-222-4000. If you have been affected by drunk driving and would like to share your story, please use one of the social media icons below.