What Happens If I Hit an Uninsured Motorist in Texas?

Two drivers in the midst of dealing with a car accident. Todd R. Durham Law Firm.
Photo by BACHTUB DMITRII for Shutterstock

In the state of Texas, there is no excuse for a motorist on the road to drive without insurance. In fact, if that’s the case, it is illegal to even be driving at all. You are required to be insured in some way, and if you get into an accident, it can be an uphill battle with insurance agencies to give you the coverage and help that you need, even if you pay for the correct insurance coverage for these exact instances. Hitting someone who is uninsured and being the cause of the accident is slightly different, and there may be more limitations than you thought. If this is new territory for you and you need an idea on what your next steps should be, here’s what you should do if you hit an uninsured motorist on the road in Texas.

Contact Your Insurance Provider

After the immediate shock of the incident has passed, if you find out that the person you were in the accident with is uninsured, you need to call your insurance provider as soon as possible. Often, in your car insurance policy that you rightly pay for each month, you can opt for coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorist accidents, an all-too-common occurrence in our state of Texas. Many times, however, these allocated sums are minimal, and if your car’s damage greatly exceeds that, or if you or a family member are seriously injured, it can only go so far. The stipulations for this particular type of coverage are for when you are the victim of an uninsured driver’s negligence. If you are the cause of the accident, the reality is that you may be liable for some of their damages. But, due to their being uninsured, if they face additional costs such as medical bills and wage losses, they have much less chance of winning the case and forcing you to have to pay for them. Ideally, everyone needs to be responsible and pay for insurance.

The True Cost of a Serious Car Accident

The minimum cost that people pay when it comes to uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is $25,000. This may seem like a large amount of money, and it is, but not when it comes to more severe car accident cases. Especially when there are injuries that require additional appointments, visits to specialists, and physical therapy, the costs will only continue to go up. There may be losses of wages, and many more unexpected expenses. It will no doubt exceed $25,000 when all is said and done, and it is crucial to have both car insurance and access to a trusted uninsured motorist attorney, should issues ever arise.

The Todd R. Durham Law Firm Is Your Only Choice

Todd Durham of the Todd R. Durham Law Firm is an expert attorney for the many types of car accident cases that can occur on our Texas roads. Uninsured or underinsured car accidents can be some of the most frustrating, due to the negligence of someone thinking they do not have to pay for car insurance, while everyone else does. Whether you are the cause or the victim of one of these accidents, you have a poised and experienced legal advocate who is ready to help you navigate through it. Things can get complicated when it comes to dealing with insurance companies and the other party. Call (214) 222-4000 today to set up a free consultation. We are based in Lewisville and serve many surrounding Fort Worth-area cities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *